Everyone Says Good Good Eat!

October 12, 2008 at 11:47 pm | Posted in itchy mouth | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Normally I would skip the chips and crackers section of supermarkets and stores as I have stopped snacking on these for the longest time (but still can’t resist the occasional chocolate treat! :p) But this particular day while shopping with a friend I saw this interesting pack from Taiwan that I simply had to buy! The unusual thing about it was not the content they were selling, which looked like any other kind of crackers, but rather, it was the name and graphic that caught my eyes.


Cute right?? 😀

“Good good eat”?? I thought that sounded more Singlish than Taiwanese…hahah 8) And just who the hell is this 張君雅小妹妹? There were two different flavours on the shelf, so I decided to take the last pack of this flavour.


Back of the pack

It was only when I scrutinised the pack after buying that I noticed these fine prints…


Wow! So is this 張君雅小妹妹 a gourmet or food critic who tried the product
and gave it a thumbs up? But she is just a little girl leh….:o


Wow! Got blog one leh this 張君雅小妹妹! There’s her msn emoticon too!

Now I am getting very curious! Just who is she? A cult figure? A child celebrity? A google search gave me the answer…

張君雅小妹妹 is a character in the advertisement for a series of snacks from a Taiwan food company, WeiLin. As to why they chose to use the name 張君雅小妹妹, I really got no idea…:p Probably to stand out from the crowd but I think the marketing strategy was quite a hit among consumers. I really had a good laugh watching their quirky advertisements!

This is one of the simplest yet funny ad. For those who can’t understand Mandarin, it’s basically about a little boy asking the young man to return him his snack that he had dropped. The guy then asked for the boy’s name and said it did not match the one on the pack and walked away with an annoying giggle. It was so popular that the local variety show did a spoof out of it!

Then finally we see 張君雅小妹妹 in person in this ad for another product line.

Then there’s this another one, asking 張君雅小妹妹 to rush home for the noodle that the granny had cooked for her. Why did the voiceover remind me of the previous president of Taiwan? :p


The almost finished snack, which were half size smaller than those
on the packaging. It tasted decent and not as salty as the usual chips

I think I won’t mind picking up the other flavour or other products if they are available here. :p

Also see related post:
> The Full Monty

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. haha was trying to find ur old post on some museum exhibit then drop by this Good Good Eat posts and end up watching lots of her on youtube.. the “人头保证” ad on her cup noodle so quirky.. (is the one u bought in TW that time too).

    • haha…v cute rt? din see any “人头保证” ad…care to share? 😀

  2. haha, I’m pretty sure 张君雅 is the real name of that cute little chubby girl in the ad. Your blog made me want to try a pack myself.

    • Hahah…Go go! Go try a pack! But I dun seem to find them in shops here nowadays….


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.