Experience the Power!

May 21, 2014 at 4:14 pm | Posted in itchy backside | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Last Sunday, Itchyfingers finished our fifth edition of the Home Team NS Real Run at Sentosa Island. It was the second time we ran the Real Run at Sentosa, and this time it was a bigger challenge cos we were supposed to run on three, instead of two, stretches of beaches…

map
The illustration for the ending point was not so accurate here – it should be shifted a little to the left, as it seems like we would have to cross the line and then continue to run the last stretch of sand…hahah….Total distance for the beach is around 1.9km, close to 2km….

We reached quite early and I decided that I wanna go nearer to the starting line, so that by the time I finished, it would not be too hot…It proved to be a wise decision…if, only I could just run a little faster….we shall come to that later…

warm
Tisu Girl happily stretching….

Horn sounded! It was to be upslope all the way! I tried to keep a consistent pace….

Soon it was the first stretch of sand at Tanjong Beach…The beach was flatter but at certain stretch we still had to negotiate the slight slope. Always not easy to run on soft sand cos your feet will sink in and it takes more effort to lift them up. You may also suffer a sprained ankle if you are not careful. A short break from the first beach and very soon we were welcomed by another long stretch at Palawan Beach. I found myself getting slower and slower…but I was not going to stop and walk!!

Around 6km or so after emerging from some trails with lots of turnings, we were greeted with this: a very spectacular view of the luxurious waterfront residential complex, Reflections at Keppel Bay. But it was also overshadowed by thick gloomy clouds. Gosh! Seemed like it would rain soon….I should have stopped and take a photo of that….

reflection
Photo credit: Home TeamNS Real Club Facebook page

Between 7 to 8 km it was a nice change of downslope! But I didn’t manage to make full use it to speed up as my energy level was being depleted after the many upslopes and two stretches of sand…

When I finally made it closed to 9km, suddenly huge drops of water started beating hard on our skin! There was absolutely no warning, it just started to pour so heavily! Luckily there was no lightning! A while later, I reached the last and final stretch of sand at Silso Beach…Gosh! It looked so long….Nobody was complaining…we all just pushed on! Even the volunteers were still standing around! Less than half way through the beach we were all drenched from top to bottom! It was the first time I ran in such heavy rain, totally wet! Even though it rained at the last Great Eastern Women Run, it was considered light drizzle and also intermittent. Nothing compared to this! This was indeed the REAL RUN, where you have to negotiate slopes, roads, trails, sand and the heavy rain!!!!! Wet sand was no easier than dry one…I kept pushing and running as fast as I could, the water kept dripping down my face and I gotta fight against drinking the rain water by wiping them away. Good thing I worn a cap, otherwise it would be  even tougher to see where I was going.

Finally, crossed the finishing line! Not good result but it was my best Real Run timing…1:12 hour. Was a bit disappointed to see no photographers around to capture our wet looks…hahah….all went hiding from the rain? Or maybe they were there but I didn’t see cos the rain obstructed my vision?

Anyway, since I was already all wet, I didn’t bother to run for the nearest shelter anymore. Instead, I joined the others for the queue to collect our medals and drinks…People around me were still in high spirit, even joking about having free shower…hahah…My phone in the pouch was all wet now, so I didn’t take it out to shoot any photos…

The downpour came swiftly and stopped equally quick. Barely five minutes after I took shelter at a game booth after collecting my medal, it stopped completely. It was then I met up with Tisu Boy, who finished before the rain started….Was surprised my free phone was still working after taking a shower in the rain….

finish
Not only did he finish before the rain started pouring, Tisu Boy also managed to complete the tough course under an hour, giving him extra time to pause and take this photo before crossing the finishing line….How jealous! Just look at the curtain of cloud! If only I could just run a little faster!

tisu
Could only pose for this photo after the rain stopped….

push
Look what these guys were doing?

hold
Wahahah….The heavy rain made the backdrop unstable in the sand, so these guys were struggling to hold it up….

gone
They gave up, and laid the backdrop on the sand….Poor winners would not have any nice backdrop for their photos…But I guess coconut trees look nice too!

A very nice ending to the tough and wet run was this….

tisu-pp'
Rainbow!!!!! A complete arc some more! It is not so common to see a complete arc in our urbanised city with so many buildings around unless you are in an open area….

rainbow
And it was not just one, but two rainbows one on top of the other!!!!! Wow! I wanna sing song….”Somewhere over the rainbow, sky are blue…”

medal1
As usual, the medal…

medal2
Back…

Also see related posts:
> Running for Real
> Keeping it Real for Real Runners
The Ultimate X-Terrain Challenge – New Balance Real Run 2010

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

