Shape Run 2013

November 9, 2013 at 1:04 pm | Posted in itchy backside | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

This year’s all-women Shape Run was supposed to be held in July. It happened to coincide with the Jurong Lake Run so I had to choose between the two. Since I chose Shape Run, that means Tisu Boy will not be able to run at Jurong Lake too…hahah…Good also, cos save a bit of money.. :p

bag
Finally the organisers came to their senses and decided to issue the
race pack before the run so we won’t have to queue for them under
the hot sun after running. T
he bag this year looked nice but the quality
is not good. Maybe they 
should give smaller bags with a better quality 
instead. How to carry 
big and heavy item in such thin quality bag? 

But forest fires in Indonesia in the middle of the year brought very bad haze to our island. So for the first time ever since Itchyfingers started taking part in races, Shape Run was postponed to a later date in October.

notice
Actually under the terms and conditions of almost all runs, it is stated that
organisers reserved the rights to cancel the event if weather condition is bad.
So it is very nice for the Shape’s organiser to move it to another date,
considering 
the amount of logistics involved

But the haze happened to almost clear up by the original race day…too bad we missed the Jurong Lake Run!

So two weeks ago, Tisu Girl ran her fourth Shape Run. Wasn’t feeling very good cos we just heard of the Lion King’s passing.

Shaperoutemap_10km_big
This year’s route wasn’t too exciting, with a lot of u-turns…so we were looking at the same
scenery…

pacers
This was the second year we had pacers for the run. This time they 
added about five lady pacers…

start
Flagged off! Elites zooming past! Somehow I felt there were lesser
runners, maybe some of them couldn’t make it after the change of
date? Also, among the elites, there were lesser familiar faces…

sports-hub
The work-in-progress Sports Hub in the early light….

Like last year, I decided to sandwich myself between the 1:00hr and 1:10 pacers. So far, my best timing during races was from last year’s Great Eastern Woman Run (which I didn’t write about!) – 1:05 hr. So to beat my own timing, I guess I would have to really put in extra effort!

champion
The first lady in the pack…

elites
Always wonder if the elites would stop for drinks…Here, some of the 
elite runners grabbed and had their drinks on the go

pour
Cooling off! Personally I won’t do that cos my glasses will be wet
and fogged up! Hahah…Oh, gotta make sure you dun pour the wrong
cup with sugary 100 plus on your head! 😀

drink
Dunnu how did they drink and still run so fast at the same time!

drink2
Cool!

happy
It’s a nice gesture to smile and thank the volunteers for providing
drinks along the way!

throw
Many runners like to dispose their cups freely along the road, but I guess
if you are not an elite runner vying for the top podium spots, it wouldn’t
really harm to slow down or stop for a second or two to dispose your
cups into the bins! Running doesn’t give you the license to litter even
if cleaners were around to pick them up!

BYO
Don’t wanna stop? Then bring your own water! More environmentally
friendly too! 🙂

Didn’t see any ladies in fancy costumes…

dress
One of the very rare few who bothered to “dress up”

spiderwoman
But this lady’s pants and Vibram Fivefingers shoes reminded me of
that black Spiderman… :p

55
Ladies running with the 0:55 hr pacers! Bravo!

cheers
Always smile for the camera!

cheers-2
Double cheers!

gd
Good job!

great
Very good cold drink! 😀

newton
Oh I love this tee from Newton! Missed the registration for this run!

survivor
We are all survivors! 😀

smile
Happy face!

Because of the many u-turns, this time Tisu Boy was able to catch me thrice along the road…this should be somewhere along the 8km point…

float
For the first time in history, Tisu Girl finally got her “float-in-the-air-
while-running” picture! Wahahahah!!!!!! Cos most of the time, my 
pictures just looked as if I was walking! Er, but I thought I was
supposed to be a mid-foot lander? Looked more like I was doing a
heel-strike on the right foot instead…

I was doing ok most of the time, keeping my own pace and staying ahead of the 1:10hr pacers. But somewhere after 6 or 7 km, the callus on the ball of my right sole started to hurt…had to try to adjust my landing so as not to aggravate it. This particular toughened skin has been bothering me every now and then, I remembered having that during the Army Half Marathon too. But maybe I was running at a much slower pace for the longer run, so it didn’t hurt as much…

finishing
T
isu Girl finally emerged around 500metres away from the finishing
line. The 1:00 hr pacers were long gone and the 1:10 pacers were no
where to be seen! They were still behind me, so I  knew I had made it
within 1:10hr…Yeah!!!!

tisu
Tisu Girl finished in 1:08hr. Not the most desirable timing, but certainly
not the worse…Weather was very hot even at 7 plus!!!!Must work
harder next time!

front
The front of the medal…Not so nice this year…Aiya! Jurong Lake
Run medal was nicer! Haha…

back
The back of the medal still beared the original date 🙂

Also see related posts:
> Pink Ladies – Shape Run 2012
> Keeping In Shape
> Getting Into Shape

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

