The Ultimate X-Terrain Challenge – New Balance Real Run 2010

November 28, 2010 at 3:12 pm | Posted in itchy backside | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

After doing the trial run a week ago, Itchyfingers were all ready and looking forward to actual race day. The sky was still dark when we reached Changi Exhibition Centre carpark at around 6.30am but there were already many people. Took a last drink of water before walking towards the centre. Strangely I felt the urge to do my big business though I had already done so before getting out of the house – something unusual for me if I had to rush off very early in the morning. Was certainly surprised to find the long queues forming in front of the toilets at such early hour!

The 15km runners were flagged off at 7am sharp. The sunrise was beautiful…but we din bring camera or even phones to take photos! :O I found myself having to visit the loo a second time…drank too much…spent another 10 more minutes queuing for the loo instead of warming up.

We ended up quite far behind the starting line cos there were so many participants. Started to get a bit hungry… At 7.30 am, we were flagged off! Tisu Boy disappeared after saying, “See you in one hour’s time!” :O


The route

As usual, the starting of the run was always so crowded, making it tough to keep up a constant pace. I was doing okay for the first 2 km, but started to get a bit thirsty after that as the weather started to get a bit hotter. The trail seemed to be a little more uneven for some reason…Finally finished the 4km trail and grabbed a drink…Pushing on to the tarmac road, I was still keeping in time when I reached the 5 km mark. But I found myself somehow getting outta breath and slowed down a bit after that…As usual, the faster 15 km runners were already heading back by now.

When I finally reached the 7km mark towards Changi Beach, I reminded myself not to take any drinks in case I get stitches again. Hard to resist drinking when the weather was so hot! This time round, they shifted the water point further in with the First Aid Station where the path was narrower. It was so congested that it was near impossible to even pass through. Had to pause and jog on the spot before making my way through…Then came the toughest part of the race – the 600 m sandy beach trail!

My performance on this 600m stretch of sand was the slowest during the trial run. This time I was mentally more prepared for the challenge but then the bigger challenge was again trying to pass through the numerous other runners compared to the trial run. I tried to get a clear running spot by going down nearer to the water, but it was so soft that I had to move further up the slope, again risking spraining the ankles. Obviously it was very tough for most as a lot of people started walking…My feet felt like iron or rocks…they felt so heavy…every steps required so much effort to move on. I was jogging at such slow pace that people walking seemed to be using less energy and yet moving faster than me….Eventually I gave up trying and started walking – this was the first time I ever stopped running during races or trainings…The 600 meters felt so long…Getting a bit demoralised… 😦

After dunu how many minutes later, I finally completed my walk on the beach and was back on the road. Forgotten what was my timing then. They should really have placed another drink station here…

Nearly tripped somewhere between the 8 and 9 km mark cos I was trying to get some cool misty air from the two standing fans…clumsy…hahah. The distance between these two markers felt so far…I found myself not able to pick up speed at 9km…a bit exhausted from the heat and the killer sand trail…I had already passed my best timing of 1hour 12minutes… 😦

When I finally crossed the finishing line, couldn’t help but felt a bit disappointed at my timing of 1hr 17min – a full 5 minutes difference from the trial run. It was even slower than my time at the Bay Run. Even Tisu Boy was surprised. He had finished within an hour – 56 minutes to be exact…not bad given the tough terrain.

We then proceeded to collect our goodie bag. Was surprised that the queue for my tee shirt size was empty! Hahaha….Felt good to collect size XXS and find that it’s still a bit roomy…hahahahah… 😀 Another pleasant surprise when I went to the toilet to wash up and found facial cleansers provided by sponsors for all runners to use. What great way to promote the product by being so thoughtful! Not sure about the guys’ toilet cos Tisu Boy din bother to queue for it. :p

As road was still closed, runners who finished earlier couldn’t leave so there were many people gathering around at the air-conditioned exhibition centre. Certainly one of the most comfortable race venues…hahah…Instead of waiting around, we decided to go back to the car to take the camera for some souvenir shots…


A freshened up Tisu Girl with the finisher’s medal at the starting point


Itchyfingers had done it! By the way, I heard that the starting point for
the previous year had slogans like, It’s going to get dirty. Enjoy.” and
You’ve made it. Clean is your reward.” at the finishing line. But there
was none this year. Aiya…


By now people were starting to leave…


Spacious venue great for big event but a bit too far to travel to…


One last shot before leaving! :p

It was so strange that I felt okay after the trial run but had major muscle aches for the next three days on my thighs and calves when I was running a much slower timing! It was killing me whenever I had to climb and descend the 42 flights of stairs to my shophouse office building. This was the first time I experienced such great pain after a run…showed that it was certainly not as easy as running on flat ground! A great experience indeed!


A proper sports bag as the goodie bag!


My double-extra-small tee…hahah…Dunu why they love coloured armpit
design for the Real Run…hahah


My third running medal – Bring out the Real Runner in You!


Back of the medal. Dun really like the shiny gold colour. A matt finish
would be much nicer

Also see related posts:
> Ten Ten Ten Ten – The Prelude
An Uphill Task
Getting into Shape
Stepping Up @ NLB
Tortoise and Hare

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yupz clean is the reward. i rem i had photos on it.
    well done gal.
    sundown marathon next? i’m still waiting for the route to be out…

    p/s: time to change ur header ah… mooncake v long ago.. xmas! xmas! xmas!

    • hahah…ya…i read urs and found the slogans so cooooool….hahah…done bad lah…haha….

      oopss…ya ya….long over due liao the masthead…..hahah…. 😀 so busy…. 😀


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

