The IT Bag

August 31, 2010 at 10:58 am | Posted in itchy mouth | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Being simple Itchyfingers, I have never fancy any of those “die-die” must-have, so-called IT bags that send some girls crazy. I simply dun understand what is so nice about bags with huge repeated logos, or monogram as they called it. The killer price tag just dun make sense to me. Besides, if I were to carry one, it just doesn’t match me, hahah…most probably people would think that I am carrying a fake bag…hahah…And talking about fake branded bags, well, I think if one cannot afford it, it’s better not to carry fakes as that it would be so embarrassing if someone could tell that yours is not the real thing…hahah…so cheapo. :p

So, what kinda bags does Itchyfingers carry then? Actually any brandless bag will do as long as the design is nice…hahah…But I prefer big bags as I can just throw everything inside, although sometimes it is quite a chore trying to fish for that little item among many others in such a big bag…haha..Ever since I started using cotton tote bag to carry my groceries, I would look out for interesting designs and use it as a normal bag to carry my barangs

After visiting the museum at the Singapore 1960 exhibition, Itchyfingers saw this poster and was immediately drawn to the bag on it. It reminded me of the other exhibition on paper bags that we also visited some time ago. So retro!


Cute right? It even has the red and white cotton twine on it! Really reminds
you of the old brown paper bag…but this is even more durable and can be
used for longer time!

Unfortunately, when we went to check out the kiosk, there was no such bag on sale. Probably sold out…and we forgot to check when will new stock be coming in…

Then when we were walking around the Esplanade area trying to steal a peek at the YOG opening preparation, we chanced upon this bag which I also like a lot! Although the idea is not new – personally I had done a similar design for an invitation card, but to use it on a bag is a cute idea, especially when you were to use it in August…Definitely a headturner and conversational piece…haha :p


The 1965 9th of August old calendar bag! The day Singapore gained independency
45 years ago! So cool to carry around especially if you are going to the National
Day Parade! Hahahah! So patriotic! Hahaha!

But seriously, I think it is such a cool bag to give to friends especially those who have been away from Singapore. I am sure it would bring out a big smile in them and make them homesick! Buahaha…!

I think I may pop by the museum and check out the paper bag tote bag soon… :p

Also see related posts:
> Singapore 1960
> Talking Behind the Bag – Carrier Bags in Singapore From the 1950s to the 1980s
> The Full Monty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

