Sleepless in Siam – Bangkok, Thailand Trip #2

April 28, 2008 at 12:32 am | Posted in itchy backside | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

We checked into the same hotel as our last trip nearly two and a half years back. Had thought their room was decent, the price was reasonable and it was located in the middle of Sukhumvit, which was quite a happening place. The only bad thing was that it was quite a distance to walk in from the Na Na Skytrain station, especially after a whole day of walking under the hot and humid weather condition. So normally I would have no problem sleeping during travel but this night was different…

Half way through the night I was awaken by this terrible itch on my right arm. Itchy fingers as usual, I scratched all over it and to my horror, there were not one or two big bumps but almost more than ten to twelve spreading all over my right arm and shoulder! “Shouldn’t be mossies right?”, I told myself, cos I was all covered up and would probably be awaken by the annoying pests.


My “souvenirs”…

The itch was terrible, and I soon realised that my ear, the back of the neck and my collarbone areas were not spared either. It was then that I realised that it should be the bed bugs having a feast!


See the red bump on my ear? It was one of the most terrible bite! Very very itchy!

I quickly jumped off the bed to check for any bugs but couldn’t find any…my bed looked innocently clean and hygiene…either the bugs were too tiny to be seen or had fled for another victim. But I remembered reading on the paper about an old woman living in a house infested with bed bugs and they were clearly visible to the eyes cos the photo showed big black patches of bugs! The thought of that just grossed me out…:( It was then that my friend KG also woke up and complained about neck bites…

I was lucky to have brought along medicated oil to relieve the itch slightly. Maybe the smell of oil prevented further invasion from the bugs cos I was being left alone for the rest of the night. But I was feeling too itchy and traumatised to sleep anymore…

The next morning we went down to the reception to complain about the evil bugs…I even wore short sleeves shirt as it would be easier to show them the “evidences”…(No lah, we were going to Chatuchak Market which would be HOT HOT HOT!) Actually not really complain lah, we just asked if they could change the mattress, pillows and bedsheets and hopefully the rest of the nights would be ok lor. The ladies at the reception took a look at my arm and merely gave a “ohhh” expression and then they offered to change us a room. Gosh. Obviously it was not the first time they got complains about bed bugs!

So back home I did a bit of reading up online about the bed bugs. According to Wikipedia, “bed bugs are nocturnal creatures. The adults are a reddish brown, flattened, oval and wingless. A common misconception is that they are not visible to the naked eye. Adults grow to 4 to 5 mm (one-eighth to three-sixteenths of an inch) in length and do not move quickly enough to escape the notice of an attentive observer.” But some site says “When disturbed, bed bugs actively seek shelter in dark cracks and crevices.” So that’s why we couldn’t find any trace of them! Attracted by warmth, they pierce through the skin of its host with two hollow tubes – one injecting its saliva, which contains anticoagulants (so as to get free flow of warm blood) and anesthetics (so the host would not feel any pain and continue to sleep like a pig!) while the other withdraws blood from the host (victim lah! that’s ME! :O ) After feeding for about five minutes, the bug returns to its hiding place. The bites cannot usually be felt until some minutes or hours later. The severe itch can last from hours to days. Wow, I was feeling itchy throughout my whole stay in Bangkok!

Now I just hope that I won’t be left with more ugly marks and scars!

Also see related posts:
> Natural Instant Breast Enhancement – Bangkok, Thailand Trip #1

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

